MTD slider inspection 04

The Level 3 Hardness Testing course provides an in depth appreciation of Hardness Testing technology for candidates wishing to take appropriate examinations in accordance with BS EN ISO 4179.

A broad introduction details nine different methods which have been or are used to evaluate the hardness of materials. These include:-

• Static indentation test
• Rebound Tests
• Scratch file test
• Ploughing Tests
• Damping tests
• Cutting tests
• Abrasion tests
• Erosion tests
• Electromagnetic tests
• Ultrasonic tests

The applications and theory of hardness testing is also discussed with attention to the slip-line-field and elastic theories. The Standard Indentation tests, Vickers, Brinell and Rockwell (both regular and superficial) are dealt with in detail. The section concerning Microhardness Indentation measurements concentrates on the Knoop and Vickers Microhardness methods.

Other methods including:

• Rebound test – Scleroscope and Leeb
• Ultrasonic Microhardness
• Scratch and File tests
• Electromagnetic testing are all dealt with in detail.

Applications of hardness testing with particular details of the problems of testing non homogeneous materials such as cast irons, cemented carbides, powder metal products, non-ferrous metals including aluminum, copper, magnesium, titanium, and zinc and their alloys are discussed. Hardness testing of non-metallic materials such as plastic and ceramics is also covered. Special applications including the measurement of case depth and hardenability are discussed. The factors which influence the choice of a hardness testing method receive specific attention in a section of their own.

Lunch, refreshments and a full set of course notes will be provided during the course.